Celebrating Excellence in Dementia Research.

The David Hague Early Career Investigator of the Year Award, worth £25,000 in research expenses with a £1,500 personal prize, is presented each year to the most outstanding early career researcher in the field of biomedical dementia research.

The Award is judged by an external panel of prominent international researchers, who look for excellence in scientific research, a significant contribution to the field and quality of scientific writing in an essay. Entries should demonstrate excellence across all areas of our Early Career Research Framework.

David Edward Hague, 1942–2015

David Edward HagueDavid was born in Stockport, a working class boy with a free spirit; an optimist, funny and curious. He was also blessed with an outstanding brain. The first in his family to go to university, he read biochemistry at Liverpool and hitchhiked to new worlds in the holidays. In 1966 he moved south to St Mary’s Hospital in London to begin his medical research and continue his sporting activities. His doctoral thesis, Some biochemical aspects of thalidomide toxicity, was a significant contribution to understanding how the sedative thalidomide, given to expectant mothers to ease morning sickness, was able to exert its disastrous effects on the unborn child. He subsequently moved to Barts Hospital and trained in medicine. Various clinical and research roles in the UK and US followed, and in 1982, after becoming a full-time single parent, he settled in Finchley as a GP.

David Edward HagueDavid was charming, kind and clever, and mostly lucky. But soon after retirement he developed Alzheimer’s disease. He coped well for several years, knowing that no cure existed but hoping and trusting that one would be found for his grandchildren’s generation. Alzheimer’s ultimately robbed him of his intellect and his independence, and, on 7th September 2015, his life.

Previous winners


This year's winners - Dr Sophie Bradley and Assistant Professor Renzo Mancuso



Dr Shane Liddelow

Shane Liddelow


Dr Jemeen Sreedharan



Dr Selina Wray - Winner for her outstanding contribution to the tau biology and iPSC fields.

Selina Wray 1


Dr Katie Lunnon, University of Exeter, won the 2017 Award for her contribution to epigenetic research, which shows great potential for important breakthroughs in the understanding of Alzheimer's disease, and she is on track to be a leader in the field.



Dr Rita Guerreiro was announced the winner of our 2016 Award for her contribution to the discovery of TREM2 variants in Alzheimer's disease. The impact of Dr Guerreiro's genetic discovery on the dementia research landscape has been remarkable and we look forward to following her future progress.