Our annual conference is an opportunity to celebrate excellence in research from people at all stages of their career. Here you can find out the eligibility criteria for each prize.

David Hague Early Career Investigator of the Year Award

The Alzheimer’s Research UK Early Career Investigator of the Year Award, worth £25,000 in research expenses with a £1,500 personal prize, is presented each year to the most outstanding early career researcher in the field of biomedical dementia research. The winner of the award will be announced at the conference, where they will have the opportunity to present their research. Applications close the October before the conference, find out how to apply here.

Jean Corsan Prize

The Jean Corsan Prize is awarded each year for the best scientific paper in neurodegeneration published by a PhD or MD/PhD student. This prestigious £2,000 prize is supported by the Jean Corsan Foundation. The winner will be given the opportunity to present their work at the 2018 conference. The prize winner’s travel and accommodation for the meeting, up to a maximum of £250, are also covered by the award.

The paper must be based on medical research into Alzheimer’s, dementia and/or similar conditions and the student must be registered at a UK university.

To enter, email a PDF of the publication to Prof John Hardy by 12 January 2018. Entrants may nominate themselves. If the nominee is not the publication’s first author, additional text of less than 100 words explaining the nominee’s contribution to the publication must also be attached. The winner must be able to attend the Alzheimer’s Research UK Conference on 20 and 21 March 2018.

Laura Pulford Prize

The £250 Laura Pulford Prize will be awarded to the PhD student who gave the best presentation at the PhD day. The award is in memory of Laura Pulford, an Alzheimer’s Research UK-funded PhD student who sadly passed away. Her research focused on understanding how genes on chromosome 21 other than APP contribute to the development of Alzheimer’s disease in people with Down’s syndrome, gaining insight into the genetics of Alzheimer’s disease. She always spoke with flair and enthusiasm for her research, and was keen to share her passion for science through public engagement.

The Dick Bell Prize for Communication

The Dick Bell Prize, worth £250, is awarded each year to an early career researcher that gives the best presentation at the conference. Dick Bell has been a long-standing supporter of Alzheimer’s Research UK, formerly acting as a Trustee for over 10 years and sitting on our Grant Review Board for the grant review process. This prize will be judged by the Science Communications team at Alzheimer’s Research UK, who will be looking at a researcher’s ability to convey complex concepts effectively, rather than the scientific content itself.

The David Dawbarn Poster Prize

All posters presented at the conference will be judged for the £100 David Dawbarn Poster Prize. This prize was set up in memory of Dr David Dawbarn, a distinguished neuroscientist. You can upload your poster abstract after you register (deadline for submissions is 12 January 2018).